Media Releases | 24th Oct, 2013

2013 Community Environment Recognition Award winners named

24 October 2013

Last night Environment Victoria held its 2013 Community Environmental Recognition Awards. The awards recognised the achievements of ten remarkable groups and individuals from around the state who have made an outstanding contribution for the environment through community action.

Those recognised were:

Yarra Riverkeeper Association for their tireless work in being the voice of the Yarra River and their success in protecting the banks of the Yarra from inappropriate development.

Peninsula Preservation Group for their community action in successfully opposing a huge tip in Dromana close to Arthurs Seat.

Dandenong Ranges Renewable Energy Association for their innovation and ambition to establish the town of Emerald as a showcase of solar energy and energy conservation.

Knitting Nannas of Toolangi for their commitment and bravery as they peacefully protest against destruction of the beautiful native forests of Toolangi.

Friends of Mallacoota for their tireless work in opposing an inappropriate ocean access boat ramp proposal at Bastion Point.

Friends of the Earth Melbourne on behalf of Lock the Gate and Quit Coal for their fantastic work, in particular establishing and supporting community action groups Lock the Gate and Quit Coal.

Environment East Gippsland for their tenacity and great success in protecting the forests and threatened wildlife of East Gippsland.

Caitlin Bignold for her extraordinary leadership in motivating students, teachers and parents alike in the stewardship of our environment.

Dr Brian Cuming for his incredible, life-long commitment to protect Westernport, an internationally recognised wetland, from port development.

Harry Van Moorst, director of the Western Region Environment Centre, for his leadership and tenacity in advocating for sustainable development in Melbourne’s Western Region.

Environment Victoria CEO, Kelly O’Shanassy said:

“The extraordinary efforts of these groups and individuals are truly inspiring. They are true environmental champions.

“Speaking up for our environment can be a tough and often thankless task. Yet strong community voices have been fundamental to every major environmental outcome ever achieved in Victoria.

“We thank these outstanding individuals and organisations and the many other people across Victoria working hard to protect our magnificent environment.”

Biographies and photos of the winners are available here



For further information or comment
Kelly O’Shanassy         Environment Victoria  0421 054 402
Yarra Riverkeepers Association       Ian Penrose        0409 510 766
Peninsula Preservation Group   Lee Burton          0419 378 116
Dandenong Ranges Renewable Energy Association
Peter Cook
Knitting Nannas of Toolangi         Lynn Dean           0403 071 157
Friends of Mallacoota    Jenny Mason     03 5158 0720
Friends of the Earth Melbourne   Cam Walker        0419 338 047
Environment East Gippsland       Jill Redwood       03 5154 0145
Caitlin Bignold    St Augustine’s College   5852 1492
Dr Brian Cuming       03 5983 9649
Harry Van Moorst            03 9731 0288