1Who we are 0Governance Our Board

Our Board


Conor Costello

Conor brings a breadth of experience in policy and advocacy, strategy and communications gained through a long history in the international development sector. Conor has worked on a broad range of issues, including human rights in conflict, climate change, and labour rights. Conor’s work has spanned both the global and local levels, in Australia and around the world. Conor joined the Board in 2020.

Paul Brown

Paul is an experienced company director, entrepreneur and clean energy advocate. He is founder of Ironbark Sustainability and for 20 years has supported local councils and communities to avoid over 2 million tCO2-e and $500m of operating costs.

Paul has helped to establish sustainability organisations including the Sustainable Living Festival, the Australian Wind Energy Association (now the Clean Energy Council) and the Australian Student Environment Network.

Ralf Thesing

Ralf has a professional background in Finance and IT, runs a small business and is very passionate about sustainability and renewable energy.

Ralf brings extensive experience in the non-for-profit sector to the Board from prior roles, such as Treasurer and President of Renew (formerly Alternative Technology Association) and President of the Macedon Ranges Sustainability Group.


Miheka Patel
(not a board member)

Miheka is a consultant with a passion for sustainability. She has a background in environmental engineering with experience in waste management and climate risk. She has been secretary to the Board since 2020.

Tim Lo Surdo

Tim is the Founder and National Director of Democracy in Colour – Australia’s first racial and economic justice organisation led by people of colour. Before starting Democracy in Colour, he helped low-paid workers set up Hospo Voice – a new union in hospitality. Previously, Tim was the Head of Campaigns at Oaktree, a senior adviser to two federal Senators, the Campaigns Director at Jhatkaa, the National Communications Director at UN Youth Australia, and co-founded Open Sky. Tim is also on the Boards of Plan International Australia and Climate for Change.

Michaela Morris

Michaela is a climate change and ESG strategist with over a decade of experience translating climate science and policy into tangible action across the private and public sectors throughout the Middle East, Asia Pacific, and Australia. With an academic background in journalism, law, political communication, and climate change, she has worked in waste and resources management, program management and capacity building with the United Nations Development Programme, and technical and strategic advisory for Ndevr Environmental. She joined the board in 2022.

Jane Campton

Over 18 years at the Victorian Bar, Jane developed a diverse advocacy practice appearing before most Victorian Courts and Tribunals. Her practice as a barrister included prosecuting offenders for breaches of the Environment Protection Act. Jane served as a County Court judge for 15 years, sitting in both the civil and criminal divisions of the Court. Jane brings to the Board an understanding of social issues, legal expertise in diverse areas of the law and a passion for minimising the risks of harm to human health and the environment from pollution and waste.

Jed Gilbert

Jed is an experienced executive in government. He has consulted on public policy and corporate social responsibility, and has served on not for profit boards. He brings a depth of experience in strategy, governance, law, finance and occupational health, safety and wellbeing. He is passionate about climate change and inclusion. He’s qualified with GAICD, BLaw (Hons), BComm (Business Law) and GradDipLang.

Aaron Lamb

Aaron is a two-time Fundraising Institute of Australia award winner, with 15 years plus experience working in NFPs from Oxfam and Vinnies to Environmental Defenders Office. Aaron has spoken extensively on digital marketing, fundraising, brand communications in a crisis, and organisational leadership at conferences across Australia. He has also sat on the board of directors for Cambodian Kids Can.